Parra For Cuva & Senoy ‘Ellajazz’ on BBC 6 Music (Darwīš – Project: Mooncircle, 2016)

More information:…-senoy-darwis/ |


A darwīš is a religious monk dedicating his entire existence to the advancement of faith and meditation. Although he believes in Allah, he can be described predominantly as a mystic. Refraining from any form of material wealth and even societal appreciation, holy enlightenment is his true aim.

After finishing up their semester at University, Nicolas and Jonas – or Parra for Cuva & Senoy – decided to pack all their gear into their camper and go on a road-trip down to the eastern coast of Spain.

The car filled with all kinds of gear, from synths to speakers, guitars, and percussions amongst other tools and toys, three creative weeks ensued, creating music with a view out to the sea.

While taking everything in and doing daily trips, the two were able to create enough song ideas in three weeks to spent the rest of the year at home in the studio to finish all arrangements and mixes.

Inspired by the Spanish way of life in a small and historically rich port town, a stark contrast to life Berlin, and soaking up diverse musical influences, the individual titles are highly personal and reflect on specific emotions or intimate experiences.

During the arrangement of the title-song, the percussion track was accidentally dragged to infinity, which resulted in a trance inducing meditative sound that gave them the idea for the title. Watching turkish dervish dancers while listening should therefore enhance the listening experience.

Darwīš‘ by Parra for Cuva & Senoy comes out worldwide on limited cyan-coloured vinyl & limited edition CD (including download code).

All Tracks written and produced by Nicolas Demuth and Jonas Lechenmayr. Vocals on Track 9 by Cornelia Dahlgren. Vocal Mixing on Track 9 by Benedict Fischer. Mastering by Sven Friederichs. A&R: Gordon Gieseking, Malte Tarnow. Artwork by Niklas Freund. Layout & Typography by Gordon Gieseking.


  • 01 Sacred Feathers
  • 02 Quadrant
  • 03 Yuyun
  • 04 Ellajazz
  • 05 Little Wave
  • 06 Auryn
  • 07 Darwīš
  • 08 No Home
  • 09 Reality feat Cornelia
  • 10 Celestial Charts
  • 11 The Walk
  • 12 Syu
  • 13 U1
  • 14 OnoM


Lovely album!

Nemone | BBC 6 Music, UK

This album will be what dreams are made of.

Chenae Rodrigues | Wonderland, UK


Nicola Phillips | Kaltblut Magazine, GER



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s